My first venue experience

29478a7ce63cb3bcea1a71d15bb331dfIn my never ending journey to make money through my hobby, photography, I am always thrilled when I get the chance to take photos in different styles and venues. I live in Japan and part of living in a Japanese community is taking part in the system. Japanese people are very group orientated and when you live in a community, especially a neighborhood it is almost expected that you take part in the events. So after much reluctance I was forced into the local community organization board.

 

A few weeks ago we had our first community event. The event took place in a local elementary school pool where students would be given the chance to try and catch trout by hand (*remember this is Japan, the same animal rights don’t apply here that Americans subscribe to. I know many out there in the internet might get too riled up about this, but remember this is a different culture). The community organizers found out that I liked to take photos so when I arrived I was asked to take photos of the event.

 

This change my sour mood into a really good mood, because at least I would be doing what I like to do. So I took out my Nikon D7000 with my 70-200 lens and I got a Nikon D3300 with an 18-55mm lens from the event organizers. I was really impressed with the 18-55mm lens because I had never used one before and with that I was able to get some really great shots of the venue as well as some great shots of the kid’s catches.

 

During the event I was able to walk around with both cameras strapped to my neck and found it really easy to take photos and everyone was having so much fun it was east to get some snapshots, photos and administration photos, too. I even jumped into the pool and had a fun time trying to avoid getting splashed while at the same time get some good action shots. While jumping into the pool with close to $2,000 USD was probably not the best idea I came out with some great shots.

 

The only down side to doing an even like this, however, was that I didn7t make any money off of the event. Also, out of the 400 some odd photos I took only about 10 were used on the website as well as a local neighborhood newspaper. However, I did get great comments about the photos and was even compared to the professional photographer from the newspaper who was there.

 

All in all this was a great event and I am glad that I go the opportunity to go and take photos. Even though I didn’t get paid, I did meet many people and was able to get my pictures posted on community websites and newspapers. Who knows this might just be the boost I need to get recognized and possibly get clients and make money on the side. Here’s hoping.

 

Here’s the link to the page with my photos:

http://blog.goo.ne.jp/nagaoka3111/e/8a09efaa120a461764ebcbc661ff7ba7

 

Thanks for reading, I would love to hear from you so if you have any questions or comments… Or you want to hire me please feel free to leave a comment or contact me.

Leave a Reply

